This table links towards the wedding rules regarding the states and tries to summarize a number of their points that are salient. Those thinking about the wedding legislation of a specific jurisdiction should review its legislation straight as opposed to count on this summary which could never be completely accurate or complete.
Related LII materials include:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit credibility (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d||three months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||thirty day period, d, h||–||–||3 months|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag e, k||18||–||i||3 days, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||1 day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 e||18||–||q||–||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||a few months|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||six months|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 days, d||six months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||thirty days||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||one year|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||one year|
|brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag ag e, u||18||30 times||t||–||–|
|brand brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 ag ag e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 days|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag ag e||18||–||–||5 times, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 days, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||a couple of months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||one day||–|
|Southern Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag ag ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 times, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles A and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||1 month, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 days|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag e||18||–||t||3 days, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||n||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag e||–||t||–||–|
Indicates that the authors of this table were unable to locate any given details about the subject
- (a) Parental permission maybe maybe not needed if small once was hitched.
- (b) Other statutory needs use.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial permission.
- (d) Waiting period can be prevented
- ( ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in the event of pregnancy or delivery of son or daughter.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with neighborhood clerk.
- (g) No age restrictions
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried woman, maybe perhaps perhaps not minors, have already been residing together as guy and spouse, they could, without health certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal infection and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of twenty-four hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour period that is waiting.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 many years of age or even more, or feminine is expecting, or candidates would be the parents of a residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and district judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (n) candidates must receive informative data on AIDS and certify having see clearly.
- (o) Judicial permission are provided whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle cell anemia offered at demand of examining doctor.
- (q) Any female that is unsterilized 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological a reaction to rubella, or even a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very very first birthday celebration. Judge may by purchase dispense with your bride catalog requirements.
- (r) If events have reached minimum 16 years, evidence of age and permission of events in individual are needed. If your parent is sick an affidavit by the incapacitated moms and dad and a doctor’s affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor’s certificate should be filed 1 month prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and OK, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get license in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties need parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for men and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle mobile can be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must declare that they usually have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If an individual or both events are underneath the age for marriage without parental permission, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If an event does not have any parent living within state, and another party has residence in state for 6 months, no authorization needed.
- (aa) real examination and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting duration after issuance of license.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to give you for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to people under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be supplied with info on AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious disease that is venereal.
- (gg) No common-law wedding could be entered into, however these states recognize typical legislation marriages that have been entered into before these dates:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Idaho- joined into just before January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Indiana- entered into ahead of 1, 1958 are recognized january,
- Ohio- entered into just before October 10, 1991 are recognized,
- Oklahoma – entered into just before November 1, 1998 are recognized, current situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into ahead of September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or perhaps January 1, 2005 (see 2004 House Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted age that is minimum of for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: situated in component on a chart into the global World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries have now been updated through overview of the statutes and links included to allow consultation that is direct of state statutes.
Tiny URL for this post: